top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMermaidMusings

And the Goose is Getting Fat

As I am myself, but that is another story as I sit here nibbling Dundee cake in the firm belief that it is a sensible alternative to turning the heating on. What times we live in eh!

The past couple of months have seen some changes, new ventures, life getting more exciting. Slowly,slowly emerging from pandemic blues and doing stuff again. Perhaps not altogether wise. Went on a fabulous singing weekend in Dorset with Chris Rowbury in September, picked up a cold and then developed nine weeks worth of coughing. Lost my voice completely a couple of weeks ago and the doctor told me to rest it.The merriment this caused amongst my nearest and dearest was less than kind.

Writing has veered over to ranting about about our unpleasant and incompetent government. It goes down well at the Waverley but I must stop before arrest becomes imminent. Some stories and proper pomes have also emerged and will post on the poems page as soon as I get a minute or two. Still find editing this website stuff slow and laborious.

Have some new venues .. The Star in Ryde has a welcoming vibe and cake, so I will be back there (second Tuesday of the month). Check https://nakedfigleafcollective.co.uk for Jean G Owen's First Friday Figgy Gig.I'm stepping out with a couple of rhyming stories on December 2nd and looking forward to a collaboration with Jean to produce podcasts in the spring, together with a long performance piece for letting loose late '23. And the lovely bunch at the Art House are getting me over the water, which I have not done for a while, to co guest at Moving Voices on the 16th.That voice had better not disappear again. Warm milk and manuka honey seems to help.

First pic.In summer mode on the Book Bus at Ventnor

Second pic. In winter mode by the fire in Ryde



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March ... Season of wild winds and nodding daffs.

So much has happened since I slouched off with my trowel last month.The world has been taken over by posturing madmen (again)and where we should be making every effort to care for each other and for o

bottom of page